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Rule 1 

These rules shall be known as the "Local Rules of the 
Juvenile Division of the Common Pleas Court of Morgan County, 
Ohio," and shall be used in governing procedures ·within the 
Juvenile Division in Morgan County, in addition to the Ohio 
Rules of Juvenile Procedure and the statutes as set forth 
in the Ohio Revised Code. These rules shall supplement and 
be inferior to the Ohio Rules of Juvenile Procedure and the 
statutory law of the State of Ohio. 

Rule 2 

These rules and any additional rules adopted hereafter 
supplant and supersede any existing rules of Court with which 
they are in conflict. 

Rule 3 

Caseflow Management Program: 

A. Emergency Situations: Any child taken into emergency 
custody or placed in emergency shelter care without 
parental consent by authority of law will be accorded 
a hearing within 72 hours, in accordance with the 
applicable statutes and rules of procedure. 

B. Shelter Care: Any child placed in shelter care 
shall be accorded a hearing within 5 days after 
the child is placed in shelter care, in accordance 
with the applicable statutes and rules of procedure. 

C. Abused, Neglected, and Abandoned Children: For 
any child that is alleged to be abused, ·neglected, 
or abandoned, the Court shall use the following 
procedure to dispose of the case: 

1. Adjudicator~ Hearing: An adjudicatory hearing 
shall be held on the 14th day after a Complaint 



in an abuse, neglect, or abandonment case has 
been filed with the Court. Upon request of 
any party, and for good cause shown, an adjudi­
catory hearing may be continued for an additional 
14 days, but in no event shall said hearing 
be continued to a time in excess of 30 days 
after the filing of the original Complaint with 
the Court. 

2. Dispositional Hearing: A dispositional hearing 
shall be held on the 14th day after an adjudica­
tion is made, but, for good cause shown and 
in the interest of justice, dispositional hearings 
may be continued for an additional 14 days. 
All dispositional hearings will be heard within 
60 days of the date of the filing of a Complaint 
herein. 

D. Juvenile Traffic Offenders: Juvenile traffic cases 
shall be disposed of by initial appearance, adjudica­
tion, and dispositional hearings as follows: 

1. Initial Appearance Hearing: An initial appearance 
hearing shall be held within 14 days of the 
date that a Complaint is filed, citing a juvenile 
into Court for juvenile traffic offenses. 

2. Adjudicatory Hearing: An adjudicatory hearing 
shall be held within 14 days after the initial 
appearance hearing. 

3. Dispositional Hearing: A dispositional hearing 
shall be held within 14 days after the adjudica­
tory hearing. 

4. Timing: If requested by the juvenile, his parents, 
or counsel, or upon the Court's own Motion, 
the Court may combine any of the hearings set 
forth in Sub-paragraphs 1, 2, or 3 above into 
one or more hearings, provided that in no event, 
shall any juvenile traffic case be continued 
beyond 42 days from the date of the Complaint's 
original filing with the Court, except under 
unusual circumstances when the interest of justice 
so requires. 
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Addition to Rule 3, Item D. Juvenile Traffic Offenders: 

5. Use of electronically produced tickets (e-tickets): The use and filing of a ticket 
that is produced by computer or other electronic means is hereby authorized in the Morgan 
County Juvenile Court. The electronically produced ticket shall conform in all substantive 
respects to the Ohio Uniform Traffic Ticket. If an electronically produce ticket is issued at the 
scene of an alleged offense, the issuing officer shall provide the defendant with a paper copy of 

the ticket. L 
This Rule shall take effect and be in force from 9 day July, 2014. 

SO ORDERED. 

D.W. FAVREAU, JUDGE 



E. Unruly and Delinquent Children: Unruly and delinquent 
cases shall be disposed of by initial appearance, 
adjudication, and dispositional hearings as follows: 

1. Initial Appearance: An initial appearance hearing 
shall be held within 14 days of the date that 
a Complaint is filed. 

2. Adjudicatory Hearing: An adjudicatory hearing 
shall be held within 14 days after the initial 
appearance hearing. 

3. Dispositional Hearing: A dispositional hearing 
shall be held within 14 days after the adjudicatory 
hearing. The Court may, on its own Motion, 
extend the time for dispositional hearings to 
obtain sufficient reports concerning the juvenile's 
background, family history, and prior court 
records as is necessary to properly dispose 
of any matters before the Court. In no event 
shall a dispositional hearing be held at any 
time in excess of 60 days from the filing of 
an original Complaint with the Court, unless 
the Court finds that, in the interest of justice 
and in the best interest of the child, an exten­
sion of the time for dispositional hearing is 
proper. 

F. Parentage Cases: Parentage cases shall be disposed 
of in the following manner: 

1. Initial Pre-Trial: Within 28 days after all 
parties to a parentage case have been served 
with process or have appeared, the Court shall 
schedule an initial pre-trial hearing. At said 
pre-trial hearing, the Court shall, if requested 
by any party or upon the Court's own Motion, 
order such scientific testing of blood or other 
body substances as is necessary in the opinion 
of the Court to properly adjudicate this matter. 
All discovery between the parties shall be con­
ducted within 4 months of the date of the initial 
pre-trial. 

2. Final Pre-Trial: Within 5 months of the initial 
pre-trial, the Court shall schedule a final 



G. 

pre-trial hearing. At the final pre-trial hearing, 
all parties will furnish the Court with trial 
briefs concerning the issues to be tried and 
the law applicable thereto. 

3. Settlement Conference: Two weeks after the 
final pre-trial hearing is scheduled, the Court 
shall schedule a settlement conference with 
the parties at said conference. All matters 
concerning the settlement of the case will be 
dealt with and, if it is not possible to amicably 
settle the case between the parties, all requests 
for jury instructions, all exhibits, and all 
scientific evidence to be introduced at trial 
will be disclosed to the Court and marked for 
introduction into evidence. 

4. Trial: Two weeks after the settlement conference, 
the case shall be set for trial. No continuance 
of the trial date will be granted, except for 
emergency situations or when the interest of 
justice, in the opinion of the Court, so requires. 

5. Post-Trial Proceedings: In the event that a 
determination of parentage is made at trial, 
the Court will conduct a hearing within 1 month 
of the date of the trial to determine the issues 
of child custody, child support, and child visi­
tation rights. During the 1 month period between 
the trial and the post-trial hearing, the parties 
shall present to the Morgan County Child Support 
Enforcement Agency all financial matters relative 
to the calculation of child support. 

Child Support Enforcement and Modification: Within 
6 weeks of the filing of a Motion for support enforce­
ment or modification and the service of the adverse 
party thereon, the Court shall conduct a hearing 
to determine the issues. Prior to said hearing, 
the parties shall provide such financial and other 
data as is necessary to the Morgan County Child 
Support Enforcement Agency for the calculation of 
financial responsibilities of the parties pursuant 
to law. If the interest of justice so requires, 
the Court may continue the matter set for hearing 

/ 



for a period of 14 days to allow the parties to 
provide any additional information required by the 
Morgan County Child Support Enforcement Agency, 
or to allow calculations of support, pursuant to 
law. In no event shall support enforcement and 
modification matters be disposed of more than 2 
months from the date of the appearance and service 
of process of all adverse parties. 

H. Change of Custody and Visitation Rights: Change 
of custody and visitation rights cases shall be 
disposed of in the following manner: 

l. Pre-Trial Hearing: Within 14 days of the filing 
of a Motion for custody, change of custody, 
or visitation rights and the service of process 
of said Motion upon the adverse party, the Court 
shall conduct an initial and final pre-trial 
hearing with the parties to determine the issues 
to be brought before the Court. 

2. Hearing: After the initial and final pre-trial 
hearing, the Court shall schedule a hearing 
on the issues of custody, change of custody, 
or visitation rights within 6 weeks. No continu­
ances shall be granted unless the Court determines 
that it is in the interest of justice to continue 
this matter, but in no event will issues of 
custody, change of custody, or visitation rights 
be continued beyond 6 months after the filing 
of a Motion and the service of the adverse party 
therewith. 

I. Permanent Custody: Permanent custody cases shall 
be disposed of in the following manner: 

1. Initial Pre-Trial Hearing: Within 30 days after 
the filing of a Complaint for permanent custody 
and the service of all parties with process 
thereon, the Court will hold an initial pre­
trial hearing to determine the issues relative 
to the Complaint and to make such orders as 
are necessary for the resolution of the Complaint. 

2. Final Pre-Trial Hearing: Five months after 
the filing of the Complaint for permanent custody, 



the Court will hold a final pre-trial hearing 
to resolve all outstanding issues and prepare 
the matter for trial. 

3. Trial: A trial of the issues of the Complaint 
will be held two weeks after the final pre-trial 
hearing. 

J. Adult Cases: Adults cases shall be disposed of 
in the following manner: 

1. Initial Appearance: Two weeks after the service 
of the adult with a Complaint in an adult case, 
the Court shall hold an initial appearance hearing. 
At such hearing, the Court shall make such orders 
as are necessary for the efficient conclusion 
of the matter. 

2. Final Pre-Trial: Within 1 month of the initial 
appearance, the Court will hold a final pre­
trial hearing to determine and resolve any out­
standing issues. 

3. Trial: The trial will be held 1 week after 
the final pre-trial hearing. 

K. URESA Cases: All URESA cases will be disposed of 
within 3 months after the filing of a URESA complaint 
and the service of the adverse party with process. 

L. Other Cases: All other cases coming before the 
Juvenile Court will be scheduled for such hearings 
as are appropriate and shall be disposed of within 
6 months of the date of their filing and the service 
of the adverse party with process. 

M. The Clerk shall maintain such computerized records 
or tickler files of all cases filed in the Juvenile 
Court of Morgan County to insure that all cases 
are disposed of in accordance with the time frames 
established in this rule. 

Rule 4 

In all cases involving indigent persons where the Court 
has appointed counsel, it shall be the responsibility of 



the assigned counsel to submit to the Court for approval 
on approved forms counsel's bill for services, together with 
such affidavits of indigency as required by the Ohio Public 
Defender's Commission, within 14 days of the termination 
of the case. All assigned counsel bills submitted after 
14 days, submitted without affidavits approved by the Ohio 
Public Defender's Commission, or submitted on improper forms 
may, in the discretion of the Court, be denied for payment, 
except for good cause shown. All bills submitted by appointed 
counsel shall be in accordance with the Assigned Counsel 
Fee Schedule approved by the Morgan County Bar Association 
and the Morgan County Board of County Commissioners as jour­
nalized in the journal of the Morgan County Board of County 
Commissioners. 

These rules shall take effect a 
after the 28th day of June, 1991. 

D. W. 
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Pursuant to the provisions of §2313.08 of the Ohio Revised 
Code, the jury year in Morgan County, Ohio, shall begin on 
January 1 of each year and end on December 31 of each year. 
This designation of jury year, pursuant to §2313.0B(A} of 
the Ohio Revised Code, shall remain in full force and effect 
until further order of the Court. 

Rule 4.2 

Pursuant to the provisions of §2313.24 of the Ohio Revised 
Code, the Court of Common Pleas of Morgan County, Ohio, shall 
have one.term of court each calendar year,.beginning on January 
1 and ending on December 31. The number of jurors to be 
drawn each calendar year shall be specified by written order 
of the Court prior to the date specified by the Jury Commis­
sioner for the drawing of jurors. Jurors in Morgan County, 
Ol:lio, a county of less than 100,000 population, shall be 
notified of their selection pursuant to law and shall be 
summoned for jury duty by the Court as they are required. 
This rule shall remain in full force and effect until changed 
by a subsequent order of the Court. 

These rules shall take effec 
after the 22nd day of November, 

505/clh 



ADDENDUM TO LOCAL RULES OF COMMON PLEAS COUR11', 

GENERAL, JUVENILE, AND PROBATE DIVISIONS 

MORGAN COUNTY, OHIO 

Rule 3.1 

Pursuant to the provisions of Rules 38 and 39 of the 
Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure, the right to a trial by jury 
shall be preserved to the parties inviolate. 

All persons dem~nding jury trials in civil cases shall, 
no later than one week prior to the scheduled date of the 
trial, deposit with the Clerk of Courts the sum of Three 
Hundred Dollars ($300.00) for a deposit to covet expenses 
of impaneling the jury. In any civil case where a jury has 
been demanded and the deposit has not been paid one week 
·p~ior to trial, the party not depositing funds pursuant to 
this rule shall be deemed to have waived his right to trial 
by jury and said trial shall proceed as scheduled as a trial 
to the bench. 

This rule shall not be applied to any indigent party 
provided that, at least one week prior to the scheduled date 
of trial, said indigent party files with the Court an Affidavit 
of Indigency setting forth all receivables, payables, and 
equity in any personalty or realty, and the Court finds said 
party to be indigent based thereon or after any hearing that 
the Court may require. 

571/clh 
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MORGAN COUNTY. OHIO . ~ ~ ~ 
iursmrnt to the provisions of Rules 38 and 3 ~ 1 ~~t.t-A., e 

of the Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure, the right to at ~~~~~ w 
by jury shall be preserved to the parties inviolate in 1 ,~, ! 
civil cases. ~~ ,~ ~~ 

. Any party demanding a jury trial in a civil case ~ll:oz';\.• 
shall, not later than two (2) weeks prior to the scheduled 
date of the trial, deposit with the Clerk of Courts the· 
sum of Four Hundred Dollars ($400.00) as a deposit to cover 
expenses of impaneling the jury. In any civil case where 
a jury has been demanded by any party and the deposit has 
not been paid two (2) weeks prior to trial by at least one 
party pursuant to this rule, the right to a jury trial shall 
be deemed to have been waived by all parties and said trial 
shall proceed as scheduled as a trial to the bench. 

" 
If any party, inuluding a party who did not demand 

a jury trial, pays the jury deposit required by this rule, 
and all parties or their attorneys of record do not waive 
a jury trial in accordance with the provisions of Civil 
Rule 39(A) of the Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure, then the 
matter shall p~oceed to trial by a jury as scheduled. 

These rules shall take effect and be in force 
from and after the 7th day of November, 1996. All local 
rules in conflict with this rule are h by repealed. 

SO ORDERED. 

uov 13 1996 

.I tAARCIAJ. MENGEL CLERK 
~$,;...J.If!t~P!JRT_ OF OHIO -.~~ 
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MORGAN COUNTY, OHIO 'I; JJ, <('I o 
proceedings before the court wherein ~;, ~. 

ceoord is made, shall be recorded by an audio electroni ~~lfp~ ~; 
recording device on cassette tapes provide~ by the cour ~ S,lf::~ t 
Audio electronic recording shall be the primary method ~~~, ~ 
making a record. ~A.-~-"">~ ~' 

:-c- o; 
~tzo-z-;t «o~ 2.· Any party to a court proceeding may request, 

in writing, two (2) weeks prior to any hearing or trial,· 
that the proceedings be recorded by an alternate method 
of recording such as a stenographer, video tape, or other 
method. Such alternate method of recording shall be at 
the expense of the party so requesting and shall be provided 
upon the payment of a deposit, in advance, to the Clerk 
in an amount sufficient to secure expenses • ... 

3. In•any proceedings where an alternate method 
of recording is used, audio electronic recording shall not 
be used. 

B. APPEAL 

l. A written record of proceedings in any case 
on appeal may be transcribed at the request of any party 
who shall be responsible for contracting for said transcrip­
tion by a certified court reporter or other transcriber 
approved by the court. 

2. Except in criminal cases involving indigent 
Defendants, payment for the cost of transcription shall 
be borne by the person requesting the transcript. 

C. TRANSCRIPTS 

Transcripts of proceedings of electronically re­
corded transcripts shall be filed with the Clerk of the 
trial court. Cassette tapes of proceedings shall be main­
tained for the Clerk by the Bailiff in a secure place until 
said tapes are ordered disposed of by the court. 
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D. INSPECTION OF ELECTRONICALL 
RECORDED TRANSCRIPTS OF PROCEEDIN S 

f"', l. Any person may view or hear the 

~ 

' ' . .,; 

of any proceeding in court by requesting a cop 
the Bailiff as hereinafter set forth in Paragraph 

2. A party to the proceeding may view or hear 
the proceeding that has bee been electronically recorded 
by contacting the Bailiff. 

E. REFERENCE TO ELECTRONICALLY 
RECORDED TRANSCRIPTS OF PROCEEDINGS 

Reference to a particular portion of an electron­
ically recorded transcript of proceeding shall be to the 
event, the number of the tape on which it was recorded and 
the elapse time of the tape on which it was recorded and 
the elapse time on the recorder counter reading. 

F. EXPENSE OF ELECTRONICALLY 
RECORDED TRANSCRIPTS OF PROCEEDINGS 

The expense of copies of electronically recorded 
transcripts of proceedings or such portions as are deemed 
necessary by a party, shall be borne by the party requesting 
as provided by law. 

G. REQUEST OF PROCEEDINGS 

All electronically recorded proceedings are public 
record. Such public records may be obtained upon request 
in the following methods: 

l. Parties to the Action. A party to the action 
or his attorney may, upon request to the Bailiff, listen 
to or view any electronically recorded proceeding. At the 
election of a party or his attorney, the court will provide 
a cassette tape of the proceeding requested as provided 
in Subparagraph 3 of this paragraph. 

2. Non-parties. Non-parties to a case wishing 
to hear or view electronically recorded proceedings in the 
case may do so by requesting a copy of the proceeding from 
the Bailiff as set forth in Subparagraph 3 of this paragraph. 



-3. Copies of Proceedings. Any party or non-party 
requesting a copy of the proceeding will notify the Bailiff 
who shall forthwith reproduce a copy of the proceeding on 
an audio tape or video tape if said proceeding was recorded 
on video. The person requesting a copy of said proceeding 
must provide such tape or tapes as ·are necessary to dupli­
cate the record to the Bailiff at his own expense. All 
tapes provided by any person requesting a copy of the proceed­
ing must be the same length (30 min., 60 min., or 90 min.) 
as the original tape on which the record.was made. 

This Rule shall take effect a 
and after the 7th day of November, 19 

in force from 

SO ORDERED • 
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Unless the Court otherwise &eels, Counsel for the Party in whose favor an Order, 
Decree or Judgment is rendered, shall within five (S} business thereafter prepare the proper 
Journal Entry and submit it to Counsel for the adverse party who shall approve or N4ect the 
same within five ( 5) business days after the receipt thereof. 

Upon failure of the adverse party to act upon the Entry in the specified time, its 
preparer may submit said Entry to·the Court for approval with· a notation as to when it was 
presented to the adverse party and that the adverse party has not signed the Journal Entry. 

If Counsel are unable to agree upon the Entry their respective Entry shall be submitted 
to the trial Judge who will then direct what Entry shall be made. 

RW,I t2J)2 

If Counsel fails to present an Entry within the ten (10) business days after the Decree, 
Order or Judgment is rendered as specified in Rule 12.01. The trial Judge may cause the 
proper Entry to be prepared and filed without submission or notice to either Counsel or take 
such other action as may be appropriate under the circumstances including but not limited to 
directing the Clerk to refuse to allow the filing of any new pleadings in any case by either 
Counsel until the Judgment Entry descnoed in paragraph 12.01 has been filed with the Clerk 
except in the emergency situation where a statue of limitations will expire or upon the express 
permission of the Judge. 

lUILI 12..03 

Counsel shall promptly submit an Entry of Dismissal to the Trial Judge following the 
settlement of any case. If Counsel fails to present such an Entry to the Trial Judge within ten 
(1 O) days after representing to the Court that a case has been settled the Trial Judge may 
order the case dismissed for want of prosecution. 

Nothing contained in this rule shall be deem~ 
any other action not enumerated herein that the Co 
circumrl)tl;!t f~UU:I I U» .tS-1) 

,-- wmu~m , 
:~ DEC 2 !) 1998 t 
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